Some schools in the region are closed. Click here for a full list.


Appalachian Wireless Banner

Not logged in // Login // Sign up


Floyd County Schools announce start times for the upcoming school year

Superintendent Henry Webb has announced the start times for Floyd County Schools for 2013-2014.


The first day of class for K-12 grades will be August 6th. The first day for headstart and preschool will be August 12th.

Schools with a school day time of 8:00 am - 2:45pm are as follows:

  • Allen Central Middle
  • Allen Elementary
  • Betsy Layne Elementary
  • Duff Elementary
  • May Valley Elementary
  • McDowell Elementary
  • Osborne Elementary
  • Prestonsburg Elementary
  • Stumbo Elementary.

Schools with a school day of 8:15 am - 3:00 pm include:

  • Adams Middle
  • Allen Central High
  • Betsy Layne High
  • RLC Learning Center
  • Prestonsburg High
  • South Floyd High
  • South Floyd Middle.

The school calendar can be viewed on the Floyd County Schools website.

Filed under: Floyd Co. | Announcements | Schools


Log in


Username is required.


Password is required.

Forgot password?