Jimmie Johnson Wins at Dover for the 10th Time

With his 10th victory at Dover International Speedway on Sunday, Jimmie Johnson has joined a very select group. Only four other drivers have won at a single track 10 different times (Richard Petty, David Pearson, Darrell Waltrip, and Dale Earnhardt). It was Johnson’s series leading fourth victory of the season, and the 74th of his illustrious career. He is eighth on the all-time wins list behind 7th place Dale Earnhardt with 76. Johnson led for 23 laps and won after beating Kevin Harvick on a Lap 383 restart. Harvick received another shot at the win after Kyle Busch crashed on lap 386. Johnson and Harvick were the only two drivers who stayed on the track with old tires. A green-white-checkers came when Greg Biffle, Casey Mears, and AJ Allmendinger produced a 7th and final caution. Johnson then cruised to his fourth win of the season with Harvick finishing second. Kyle Larson finished third, followed by Kasey Kahne, Aric Almirola, Martin Truex Jr., Jamie McMurray, Paul Menard, Clint Bowyer, and Jeff Gordon. Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 14th, with Danica Patrick 15th.